Life and Times of an ESL Teacher in the Land of Smiles

Icon

Simple rules- work and travel harder.

No Man is an Island in Koh Yao Noi

Had to wake up early as 5:30 in the morning to catch this one.

Had to wake up early as 5:30 in the morning to catch this one.

Any chance I am given, say a long weekend, to spend time on a new place I take. After the wondrous crystalline shores of Koh Lipe in Satun, I embarked Southwest this time to the epicenter of the Krabi, Phuket and Phanga triangle— Koh Yao Islands. Though I didn’t bask on the group’s biggest yet lease populated (compared to Koh Yao Noi) island Koh Yao Noi, the three days spent on Yao Noi Island was a bliss. Usually when I travel to a new place, I set off as fast as I could covering as much as I can, However this time, the term island life never meant more than before. Lazy, quiet and calm. Staying right on the beach, the small bungalow I stayed in glimmered on the two mornings I rose up with the sunrise. Walking on the low tide shore, shells dry up and small crabs crawl shyly back to their holes. Navigating the island on a scooter, I had too much heat, rain and wind under five hours.

People gave word of advice for directions and what to look for. One thing I noticed that I was really impressed with, the inhabitants of Koh Yao Noi dare not to take their keys with them when they park their motorcycle. That is because it is a small community and no one dares to steal them. I think that says a lot already. I am looking forward on seeing more sunrise on Khaw Taew beach again.

Filed under: Beaches and Islands

Leave a Reply

